MINUTES OF THE CURRICULUM COMMITTEE October 30, 2008 LIBRARY ROOM 407

John Ehrhardt called the meeting to order at 3:00 pm after a quorum was reached.

Voting Members in Attendance: Ms. Leaugeay Barnes, Ms. Trish Bilcik, Mr. Doug Blake, Ms. Jacqueline Frock, Ms. Barbara Gowdy, Mr. Al Heitkamper, Ms. Darby Johnsen, Mr. Steve Kamm, Ms. Liz Largent, Mr. Michael Machiorlatti, Ms. Janet Mitchell, Dr. Jim Schwark, and Dr. Susan Tabor.

Absent Voting Members: Ms. Melinda Barr, Mr. Raul Ramirez, Ms. Beverly Schaeffer.

Non-Voting Members in Attendance: Mr. John Ehrhardt and Ms. Catherine Kinyon

Ex-Officio Members in Attendance: Mr. Greg Gardner

Absent Ex-Officio Members: Dr. Marion Paden

Others in Attendance: Mr. Markus Smith

Announcements: Mr. Ehrhardt noted the next meeting will be November 13th.

Approval of Minutes: The motion to approve the minutes of the October 30, 2008 meeting was

made by Mr. Kamm and seconded by Ms. Frock

For: 10; Against: 0; The motion passed.

Curriculum Proposals – Social Sciences

1. Political Science

Mr. Smith proposed making the special topics course, Contemporary Issues in American Politics a regular Political Science course.

Motion to approve the above addition was made by Mr. Kamm and seconded by Dr. Schwark. For: 13; Against: 0; The motion passed.

Adjournment: Motion to adjourn was made by Mr. Kamm and seconded by Mr. Blake For: 13; Against: 0; The motion passed. Meeting was adjourned at 3:17pm.

Minutes submitted by Laurie Thornton, Social Sciences Division Assistant