MINUTES OF THE CURRICULUM COMMITTEE MEETING APRIL 20, 2006 LIBRARY ROOM 401

Ms. Ruth Charnay called the meeting to order at approximately 3:03 p.m. after a quorum was reached.

Voting members in Attendance: Mr. Paul Buckelew, Ms. Ruth Charnay (chair), Ms. Vicki Davidson, Ms. Myra Decker, Ms. Barbara Gowdy, Dr. Stephanie Hayes, Mr. John Hockett, Ms. Kim Jameson, Mr. Haifeng Ji, Mr. Stephen Morrow, Ms. Beverly Schaeffer, Dr. Jim Schwark, Mr. Gary Tucker.

Absent Voting Members: Mr. Julian Hilliard, Dr. Thomas Jones, Dr. Cecelia Yoder.

Others in Attendance: Dr. Jim DeChenne, Dean of Instructional Resources; Dr. Molly Henderson, Director of Cooperative Technical Education; Mr. Greg Holland, Professor of Engineering; Ms. Alexa Mashlan, Coordinator of Cooperative Technical Education; Mr. Charles Nunley, Professor of Mathematics; Mr. Max Simmons, Dean, Division of Science and Mathematics; Mr. Richard Trout, Professor of Biology.

Welcome: Ruth Charnay welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Announcements:

 Steven Morrow made the motion to approve the March 30, 2006 Curriculum Committee minutes.

Stephanie Hayes seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Curriculum Proposal (AAS Degree in Networking Technology) from the Division of Information Technology – Dr. Molly Henderson, Director of Cooperative Technical Education – Presenter

 Paul Buckelew made the motion to approve the course, NT 1184 Linux Installation and Administration, on page 4 with the amended inclusion of the prerequisite.

Haifeng Ji seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Paul Buckelew made the motion to approve the modification of the AAS degree program in Network Technology on pages 5-8 with the amended inclusion of the major and support course prefixes.

Jim Schwark seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Curriculum Proposal (AAS Degree in Nanotechnology) from the Division of Science and Mathematics – Greg Holland, Professor of Engineering – Presenter

Jim Schwark made the motion to approve the AAS degree program in Nanotechnology Technician on pages 12-14.

Kim Jameson seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Myra Decker made the motion to approve the addition of the courses, NANO 1112 Survey of Nanotechnology, NANO 2125 Nanotechnology Lab I, NANO 2133 Nanomaterials and Nanostructures, NANO 2225 Nanotechnology Lab II, MEMS 2233 Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems, and NANO 2333 Nanotechnology Practicum, on pages 15-23 with the amendment of the correct minimum competency required levels and the rewording of NANO 2225.

Stephanie Hayes seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Proposal to add a course to the list of approved General Education Courses – Richard Trout, Professor of Biology/Chair of the General Education Committee; Charles Nunley, Professor of Mathematics - Presenters

 Jim Schwark made the motion to approve the addition of the course, PSY 2123 Behavioral Statistics, to the General Education Course list.

Paul Buckelew seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Consideration of the revised General Education Core Competency statements – Richard Trout, Professor of Biology/General Education Committee Chair – Presenter

The tabled motion from the March 30 Curriculum Committee meeting in reference to the General Education Core Competency was reopened for discussion.

The Committee unanimously approved the General Education Core as amended. The first statement will read: **General Education at Oklahoma City Community College is an integral component of each degree program. AS or AA** will be added under item III.

The amendment also included the following motion.

Myra Decker made the motion that the Curriculum Committee recommend to the appropriate authority that modifications be made on the section of the catalog currently on pages 66 and 67 be relative to AAS degree programs so that it includes college math proficiency requirements.

Paul Buckelew seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Discussion of exception to the two-year limit for the Curriculum Committee Chairperson It was brought to the attention of the Committee that according to the Curriculum Committee guideline, the chair of the Committee may not be elected to more than two consecutive one year

term. Ruth Charnay has served as chair of the Curriculum Committee for two years. Dr. DeChenne recommended that the committee suspend the rule on the chair serving two consecutive one year term due to him leaving the College in July and due to Ruth Charnay's experience as chair of the Committee.

Jim Schwark made the motion to suspend for one year the Curriculum Committee guideline that the Curriculum Committee chair may not be elected to more than two consecutive one year term.

Paul Buckelew seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 4:20 p.m.