# MINUTES OF THE CURRICULUM COMMITTEE MEETING MARCH 13, 2003 LIBRARY ROOM 401

Mr. Chris Oehrlein called the meeting to order at approximately 3:07 p.m. after a quorum was reached.

**Voting Members in Attendance:** Dr. Kristy Bailey, Ms. Ruth Charnay, Dr. Jo Ann Cobble, Ms. Vicky Davidson, Ms. Sue Hinton, Mr. Jon Inglett, Dr. Thomas Jones, Mr. Steven Kamm, Ms. Sara Mathew, Mr. Christopher Oehrlein (chair), Dr. Jim Schwark, Dr. Jessica Sheetz-Nguyen, Ms. Anita Williams.

Absent Members: Ms. Barbara Gowdy, Mr. John Hockett, Dr. Marty Ludlum, Ms. Vicki Rankin.

**Others in Attendance:** Ms. Dianne Broyles, Professor of Modern Languages; Dr. Debra Burris, Professor of Physics/SMT; Dr. Jim DeChenne, Dean of Learning Resources; Mr. Terry Dicken, Professor of Electronics from Moore Norman Technology Center; Ms. Carolyn Goad, Director of Cooperative Technical Education; Ms. Molly Henderson, Coordinator of Cooperative Technical Education; Ms. Molly Hendersor of Graphic Communications; Mr. Joe Ramsey, Professor of Business/Technology; Ms. Susan VanSchuyver, Dean of Arts & Humanities; Ms. Anna Wilson, Dean of Science & Mathematics.

Welcome: Chris Oehrlein welcomed everyone to the Curriculum Committee meeting.

**Announcements:** Marty Ludlum and Barbara Gowdy informed Chris Oehrlein that they would not be attending today's meeting. Dr. Jim DeChenne informed the Committee that another Curriculum Committee meeting would be scheduled to discuss the Cyber Security Program proposal.

• Steven Kamm made the motion to approve the February 20, 2003 minutes as amended.

On the first page of the minutes under announcements, the motion should read: Steven Kamm made the motion to approve the **December 5, 2002** minutes.

Ruth Charnay seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

## Curriculum Proposal (AAS Degree in Graphic Communications) from the Arts & Humanities Division – Ms. Lyn McDonald, Professor of Graphic Communications; Ms. Susan VanSchuyver, Dean of Arts & Humanities – Presenters

 Sue Hinton made the motion to approve the modifications and additions of the following courses on pages 7-18. **Courses Modified** 

GCOM 1033 Electronic Publishing: PageMaker I GCOM 1043 Electronic Publishing: QuarkXPress I GCOM 1133 Introduction to Macintosh GCOM 1223 Advertising Layout GCOM 2783 Image Editing: Photoshop II GCOM 1353 Introduction to Multimedia Design GCOM 1173 Computer Drawing: Freehand GCOM 2803 Portfolio Preparation & Presentation

<u>Courses Added (</u> these courses will be added to the computer proficiency list) GCOM 1183 Computer Drawing: Illustrator GCOM 1053 Electronic Publishing: InDesign I GCOM 2053 Electronic Publishing: InDesign II GCOM 2593 Digital Video & Sound Editing II

Jo Ann Cobble seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

 Anita Williams made the motion to approve the modification of the AAS degree programs in Graphic Communications-Print Media Emphasis, Graphic Communications: Photography/Digital Imaging Emphasis and Graphic Communications: Multimedia Emphasis on pages 19-30 as amended.

From page 20:

Under Sophomore Year First Semester, the second line should read: BUS 1323 Math for Business Careers, APPM, or any 1000 level Math Course

From pages 22, 26, 30:

Under Support Courses, BUS 1323 should read: BUS 1323 Math for Business Careers, APPM, or any 1000 level Math Course APPM 1223 Mathematics for Technical Careers I APPM 1233 Mathematics for Technical Careers II APPM 1313 Mathematics for Health Careers MATH 1000 Special Topics MATH 1503 Contemporary Mathematics MATH 1513 College Algebra MATH 1613 Trigonometry MATH 1743 Calculus I for Business, Life Sciences, and Social Sciences

## From page 24:

Under Freshman Year Second Semester, the fifth line should read: BUS 1323 Math for Business Careers, **APPM**, or any 1000 level Math Course

#### From page 28:

Under Freshman Year Second Semester, the third line should read: BUS 1323 Math for Business Careers, **APPM**, or any 1000 level Math Course Jon Inglett seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

## Curriculum Proposal (Certificate of Mastery in Financial Services) from the Business Division – Ms. Anita Williams, Professor of Business – Presenter

 Kristy Bailey made the motion to approve the deactivation of the certificate of mastery in Financial Services on pages 34-35.

Sue Hinton seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Curriculum Proposal (AAS Degree in Electronics: General Emphasis) from the Business Division – Mr. Terry Dicken, Professor of Electronics from Moore Norman Technology Center; Mr. Joe Ramsey, Professor of Business/Technology – Presenters

Jim Schwark made the motion to approve the addition of the course, ET 1724 Amplifiers, and the modifications of the courses, ET 2384 Operational Amplifiers and ET 2414 Microcomputer Systems, from the revised handout.

Jo Ann Cobble seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

• Anita Williams made the motion to approve the modification of the AAS degree program in **Electronics-General Emphasis** from the revised handout.

Steven Kamm seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Curriculum Proposal (AAS Degrees in Electronics-Semiconductor Manufacturing Technology Emphasis and Manufacturing Technology-Semiconductor Manufacturing Technology Emphasis) from the Science & Mathematics Division – Dr. Debra Burris, Professor of Physics/SMT; Ms. Anna Wilson, Dean of Science and Mathematics – Presenters

 Sue Hinton made the motion to approve the suspension of the AAS degree programs in Electronics-Semiconductor Manufacturing Technology Emphasis and Manufacturing Technology-Semiconductor Manufacturing Technology Emphasis on pages 49-59.

Jim Schwark seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

## Other:

• Jo Ann Cobble made a motion to elect Ruth Charnay for the position of Chairperson for next year's Curriculum Committee.

Sue Hinton seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Steven Kamm was elected to serve as Vice Chair for next year's Curriculum Committee.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 3:42 p.m.